Tchaikovsky, a cappella choral pieces




Tchaikovsky, a cappella choral pieces







Posted here are a cappella settings by Tchaikovsky of texts by Pushkin, Lermontov, Tsiganov, Ogarev; the composer, Tchaikovsky; and others.



Side 1:

A Golden Cloud Stayed the Night
Words by M. Lermontov

No Cuckoo in the Damp Woods
Words by Aleksey Pleshcheyev

Words by A. Mashistov

The Nightingale
Words by P. Tchaikovsky

Neither Time nor Season
Words by N. Tsiganov


Side 2:

Hymn in Honor of St. Cyril and St. Methodius

Words by P. Tchaikovsky

Before Sleep Comes
Words by N. Ogarev

Why Has the Merry Voice Grown Silent?
Words by A. Pushkin


About Roger W. Smith

Roger W. Smith is a writer and independent scholar based in New York City. His experience includes freelance writing and editing, business writing, book reviewing, and the teaching of writing and literature as an adjunct professor. Mr. Smith's interests include personal essays and opinion pieces; American and world literature; culture, especially books and reading; classical music; current issues that involve social, moral, and philosophical views; and experiences of daily living from a ground level perspective. Besides (1), a personal site, he also hosts websites devoted to (2) the author Theodore Dreiser and (3) to the sociologist and social philosopher Pitirim A. Sorokin.
This entry was posted in my favorite music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s